Carrying a Concealed Firearm
If you have carried a Concealed Firearm illigally, Contact Delray Beach County Law Firm Bottari & Doyle at 561-588-2781 for a legal consultation.
Definition of Carrying a Concealed Firearm
To prove the crime of Carrying a Concealed Firearm, the State must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The person knowingly carried on or about his or her person the concealed firearm.
- The concealed firearm was concealed from the ordinary sight of another.
Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Firearm
Carrying a Concealed Firearm is a Third degree felony. Third degree felonies are punishable by any combination of the following:
- 5 years in prison
- 5 years of probation
- $5,000 fine
Defenses to Carrying a Concealed Firearm
A person can lawfully carry a concealed weapon when he or she has been issued a license to carry by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
A non-Florida resident can lawfully carry a concealed firearm when in Florida if the nonresident : (1) is 21 or older and (2)has in his or her immediate possession a license to carry from another state and (3) the non-resident is from a state that honors Florida concealed weapon or concealed firearm licenses.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 790.25, in certain situations, a person can lawfully carry a concealed weapon without a permit. For example, a person traveling by a private conveyance with the concealed weapon securely encased is not required to have a license. A person who has a concealed weapon at his or her home or business is not required to have a concealed weapon’s license.
If you have been arrested or charged with Carrying a Concealed Firearm in Delray Beach County, Martin County or Broward County, contact a
Delray Beach criminal defense lawyer from Bottari & Doyle at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.