No Valid Driver’s License Florida
It is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle on a highway in the state of Florida, unless the person has a valid driver’s license. However, by speaking with the prosecutor we may be able to get the charge dismissed, especially if the person obtains a driver’s license. It is very important to avoid a criminal conviction, because employers and other state agencies often require disclosure of convictions.
Penalties for No Valid Driver’s License
Driving a motor vehicle on a highway without a valid driver’s license is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months of probation, 60 days in the county jail as a condition of probation and a $500 fine.
Definition No Valid Driver’s License
At a trial, the State would have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant:
- Drove a motor vehicle
- On a highway
- Without a valid driver’s license
A driver is, “any person who drives or who is in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway.” A motor vehicle is a, “self-propelled vehicle not operated upon rails or guideway, but not including any bicycle, motorized scooter, electric personal assistive mobility device, swamp buggy or moped.” A highway is, “the entire width between the boundary lines of every way or place of whatever nature when any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular traffic.” The entire definition of highway can be found in Florida Statute 316.003(53). A valid driver’s license is not suspended, canceled, revoked or expired.
If you have been arrested or charged with No Valid Driver’s License in Palm Beach County, Broward County or Martin County, contact a Palm Beach criminal defense attorney from Bottari & Doyle at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.