Carrying a Concealed Weapon
If you have been charged with carrying a concealed weapon, contact Bottari & Doyle Law Firm in West Delray Beach County for legal representation at 561-588-2781.
Definition of Carrying a Concealed Weapon
To prove the crime of Carrying a Concealed Weapon, the State must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The person knowingly carried on or about his or her person the concealed weapon.
- The concealed weapon was concealed from the ordinary sight of another.
Definition of a Concealed Weapon
Pursuant to Florida Statute 790.001(3)(a), a Concealed Weapon means any dirk, metallic knuckles, slingshot, billie, tear gas gun, chemical weapon or device, or other deadly weapon carried on or about a person in such a manner as to conceal the weapon from the ordinary sight of another.
Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Carrying a Concealed Weapon is a First degree misdemeanor. First degree misdemeanors are punishable by any combination of the following:
- 1 year in jail
- 1 year of probation
- $1,000 fine
Defenses to Carrying a Concealed Weapon
A person can for self-defense purposes, lawfully carry in a concealed manner: A self-defense chemical spray, a nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.
A person can lawfully carry a concealed weapon when he or she has been issued a license to carry by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
A non-Florida resident can lawfully carry a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm when in Florida if the nonresident : (1) is 21 or older and (2)has in his or her immediate possession a license to carry from another state and (3) if the non-resident’s State honors Florida concealed weapons permits.
If you have been arrested or charged with Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Delray Beach County, Martin County or Broward County, contact a
Delray Beach criminal defense lawyer from Bottari & Doyle at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.