Personal Injury Lawyers for Florida Rideshare Accidents
More and more, people rely less on taxis and more on rideshare companies, such as Uber and Lyft. Additionally, many individuals choose to drive for Uber and Lyft to earn extra side money. Initially, many counties throughout Florida passed their own legislation; however, in 2017, Governor Rick Santis signed into law CS/HB 221, which standardized regulations and requirements for rideshare drivers throughout the state.
Florida Insurance Requirements for Rideshare Drivers
One of the standardized areas was the insurance requirements, and the most current legislation pertaining to rideshare can be found in Chapter 628.748 of the Florida Statutes. Rideshare drivers have to carry at least $1 million in liability coverage, and Uber and Lyft must also provide $1 million in coverage for third-party damages.
Possible Injuries in a Rideshare Accident
When someone's involved in a rideshare accident in Broward or Palm Beach County, the injuries are similar to the injuries that would occur in any other car accident. Most injuries are either impact injuries, where part of a person's body hits (or is hit by) a part of the car, or penetration injuries. Most penetration injuries fall into the area of cuts or scrapes. This could result from shattered glass or other items that came loose in the collision.
Here are some of the most common injuries:
- Scrapes and cuts
- Traumatic Brain Injuries or Concussions
- Back Injuries
- Broken and Fractured Bones
When Does an Accident Fall Under the Rideshare Laws?
In Florida, the law that determines which insurance coverage applies (personal or otherwise) is tied to the status of the rideshare app. If the driver doesn't have the app on, or the car is empty and has no passenger, the accident is covered under the driver's personal insurance rather than the Uber or Lyft coverage.
Contact Us Today
Whether you are the driver or the passenger in a rideshare car accident, you should immediately seek any necessary medical attention. An experienced attorney can also help you understand what compensation you may deserve. Contact us today online or call us at 561-588-2781 to speak with our Delray Beach Rideshare accident attorneys.