Serving Boca Raton Residents
Arrested for DUI? Call 561-588-2781
Boca Raton is known for providing tourists and residents with great beaches, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. It includes the Town Center Mall, the Boca Raton Resort and Florida Atlantic University. The courthouse for your Boca Raton DUI will likely be in the neighboring city of Delray Beach. The courthouse is located at 200 West Atlantic Avenue. Our office is located just a few minutes from the courthouse. We speak to Delray Beach state attorneys on a regular basis.
If you were arrested in Boca Raton, your case will likely start in the Delray Beach courthouse. The Delray Beach courthouse is much more convenient to visit than the main branch in West Palm Beach, because it is smaller and contains fewer courtrooms. There are only two prosecutors in the Delray Beach Courthouse and one judge who will handle your case. A Boca Raton DUI may start in the Delray Beach Courthouse and may end in Delray Beach. The case may also be transferred by the criminal defense attorney to the Palm Beach County main branch located in West Palm Beach if the defense attorney wants to be in front of a new prosecutor. If you need help, you can contact my office today at 561-588-2781 for a free consultation.
What happens to me if I am convicted for a first DUI in Boca Raton?
A guilty conviction for a first DUI will result in at minimum:
1. Probation for 6 months.
2. $500 fine - $1000 Fine.
3. 50 hours of community service.
4. Attend the Victim Impact Panel or YouImpact Course.
5. Complete DUI School and follow any recommendations for treatment and counseling.
6. Your vehicle will be immobilized for 10 days.
A DUI involving a crash is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail.
We can help you to try to avoid a DUI conviction by fighting to get your case dismissed or reducing it to a reckless driving charge.
Arrested for DUI in Boca Raton? Contact Us at 561-588-2781
Where do people get DUIs in Boca Raton?
Your Boca Raton DUI may have occurred on one of these roads. As local residents, we have driven on the same roads, and we are aware of the speed limits that may be relevant to your DUI stop. Police need to have probable cause to pull you over for a traffic infraction. Were you stopped for speeding, or failure to maintain a single lane? These types of stops can be challenged and can lead to your dui case being dismissed.
- Yamato Road
- Glades Road
- Palmetto Park Road
- Military Trail
- Federal Highway
- Camino Real
- St. Andrews Blvd.
- Jog Rd.
Arrested for DUI in Boca Raton? Call 561-588-2781
How does your law firm attack DUI cases?
What happens to me if I am convicted for a second-time DUI in Boca Raton?
A person convicted of a second DUI must do all of the above. In addition, he or she must spend 10 days in jail if the second DUI arrest occurred within 5 years of the first DUI conviction.
Do I have to plead guilty just because I was arrested?
Absolutely not. Always remember that it's the State of Florida's burden of proof to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle, and that you had a breath or blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, or that your normal faculties were impaired. The State is charging you, and it's their job to prove it.
How do I reduce my DUI to reckless driving?
This again depends on the facts of your case. We can tell you whether or not you would be eligible, but ultimately that decision is made by the state attorney. For more information on “wet reckless” plea deals, read our blog post on how to get a DUI reduced to reckless driving.
Will a DUI in Boca Raton affect my current job?
Florida is an at-will state. An at will employee is defined by the National Conference of State Legislatures as, “At-will means that an employer can terminate an employee for any reason except an illegal one.” An illegal reason would be terminating an employee's employment for discrimination. Therefore, an employer can absolutely fire someone for a DUI arrest. However, whether the employer chooses to fire the employee for a DUI arrest will likely depend on the type of the employee's job. For example, people are more likely to be fired for DUI if they work with kids, teach, drive professionally for a living (limo driver, taxi driver, commercial truck driver), work in a health-related field (nurses, doctors) or work in real estate.
Can I get a DUI if I wasn't driving?
Yes, Florida law states that a driver who is in “actual physical control of a vehicle” can be arrested and convicted for DUI if he or she is under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired or with a BAL (breath alcohol level) of .08 or higher.
Can I drive now that I was arrested for DUI?
First time DUI offenders are eligible to receive a hardship license immediately. The hardship license is necessary for you to drive to and from work, for livelihood, medical and religious purposes. However, you must request a hardship license within 10 days of your arrest. We can help you get a hardship license by providing the Florida Bureau of Administrative Review in Lauderdale Lakes with the necessary forms to process your hardship license application. The Bureau of Administrative review office in Lauderdale Lakes can be difficult for you to reach by phone, because they have limited resources and a high volume of applicants for hardship licenses. We will help you to get a hardship license. Failure to act within 10 days of your arrest will cause you to have to wait at least 30 days to apply for a hardship license. The citation that the officer gave to you only acts as a license for 10 days. After 10 days, if you do not get a hardship license, you will have to wait at least 30 days to get one.
Below is a copy of portion of the citation that you received. You need to keep this with you, because it acts as your driver's license for ten days. If you gave a breath sample, the top box will be checked. I often see the officer check "No" for "Eligible for Permit" when a client is in fact eligible for a permit. Call us at 561-588-2781 for more information.
Arrested for DUI in Boca Raton? Call us at 561-588-2781
What can a Boca Raton DUI Attorney do for me and my case?
Our attorneys will want to know why you were pulled over by the police. Challenging the stop in a Boca Raton DUI case is one of the weapons in a dui attorney's arsenal, because an illegal stop could get your entire case thrown out through a legal motion called a motion to suppress evidence. We know why an officer can legally stop you and why he cannot stop you. We will also want to know if you were suffering from any medical conditions that may have interfered with your ability to perform the roadside tasks. These tasks are difficult to perform especially under the stress of a potential arrest. Our goal is to get your case dismissed through various DUI legal defense strategies. Contact our office today at 561-588-2781 for a free consultation.
How much do you charge for DUIs?
The costs will depend on the facts of your case. Generally, we charge $3000 for a first-time DUI in Palm Beach County. We do accept payment plans.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Boca Raton, call our office for a FREE consultation at 561-588-2781.