It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to have or consume alcohol in South Florida. If you or someone in your family has been charged with possession of alcohol by a minor, speak to the criminal defense attorneys at Bottari & Doyle today. Oftentimes the charge for Possession of Alcohol by a Minor is accompanied by other alcohol-related crimes, such as Open House Party offenses and others, so it's important to build a comprehensive, strong legal defense. Our criminal defense lawyers know how to handle underage drinking cases and we will fight for your rights at every step of the way. There are many possible defenses to a minor possession of alcohol charge so don't wait – call today for a free case evaluation.
Florida Underage Drinking Lawyer
A person who violates Florida Statute 562.111 commits a second=degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months of probation, 60 days in jail as a condition of probation, and a $500 fine. A person who violates the statute two or more times commits a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year of probation, one year in jail as a condition of probation, and a $1,000 fine.
Defenses to Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
If the person arrested was detained absent the requisite legal standard, reasonable suspicion or probable cause, then it's possible to get the charges dropped. The alcohol and age of the defendant may also be subject to suppression.
Why type of lawyer handles underage drinking cases?
A criminal defense lawyer represents people who have been accused of underage drinking, because possession of alcohol by a minor is a crime.
If you or someone you know has been charged with Possession of Alcohol by a Minor or Underage Drinking, contact the criminal defense attorneys at Bottari & Doyle at (561)-588-2781 for a free case evaluation.