Boca Raton is known for providing tourists and residents with great beaches, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. It includes the Town Center Mall, the Boca Raton Resort and Florida Atlantic University. The courthouse for your Boca Raton DUI is in the adjacent town of Delray Beach. The courthouse is located at 200 West Atlantic Avenue. Our office is located just a few minutes from the courthouse. We speak to Delray Beach state attorneys on a regular basis. If you were arrested in Boca Raton, your case will start in the Delray Beach courthouse. The Delray Beach courthouse is much more convenient to visit than the main branch in West Palm Beach, because it is smaller and contains fewer courtrooms. There are only two prosecutors in the Delray Beach Courthouse and one judge who will handle your case. A Boca Raton DUI will start in the Delray Beach Courthouse and may end in Delray Beach. The case may also be transferred by the criminal defense attorney to the Palm Beach County main branch located in West Palm Beach if the defense attorney wants to be in front of a new prosecutor. If you need help, you can contact my office today at 561-588-2781 for a free consultation.
We represent people from all walks of life. You may be a professional, a realtor, a businessman, a teacher, a housewife or a student. It doesn't matter who you are or what you do. We can help you. Our Boca Raton DUI lawyers converse regularly with the DUI prosecutors who will be assigned to your case.
What happens to me if I am convicted for a first DUI in Boca Raton?
A guilty conviction for a first DUI will result in at minimum:
1. Probation for at least 6 months.
2. $500 fine - $1000 Fine.
3. 50 hours of community service.
4. Attend the Victim Impact Panel or YouImpact Course.
5. Complete DUI School and follow any recommendations for treatment and counseling.
A DUI involving a crash is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail.
What happens to me if I am convicted for a second-time DUI in Boca Raton?
A person convicted of a second DUI must do all of the above. In addition, he or she must spend 10 days in jail if the second DUI arrest occurred within 5 years of the first DUI conviction.
What happens to my license after a DUI arrest in Boca Raton?
If you do not take the appropriate action, your license will get suspended 10 days after the arrest. We can help you retain your driving privileges (if you qualify) by making sure you get a hardship license to drive to and from work and school. If you do not act within 10 days, you will lose the ability to drive legally. Driving on a suspended license is never a good idea, and it's one of the most common DUI mistakes that can lead to serious repercussions.
Do I have to plead guilty just because I was arrested?
Absolutely not. Always remember that it's the State of Florida's burden of proof to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle, and that you had a breath or blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, or that your normal faculties were impaired. The State is charging you, and it's their job to prove it.
How can I defend a Boca Raton DUI charge?
This depends on the facts of your case. Each case is different. Many times, the government is simply unable to meet their burden of proof at trial. This results in a not guilty verdict and a dismissal of the charges. Again, each case is different and it's the DUI attorney's job to accurately assess the strengths and weaknesses of his client's case. Common examples include:
- Probable cause: The officer needs to have a reason to stop or arrest you. Lack of probably cause can be especially useful if you've been stopped at a checkpoint.
- Miranda Warning: If your Miranda Rights were not read to you at the right time, any potentially incriminating statements you made may be inadmissible in court.
- Observation period: Law enforcement officers are required to monitor you for 20 minutes following a breath test. If they don't, the results may be considered inadmissible.
- Evidence and testimony: If you're given a field sobriety test, a criminal defense attorney may be able to find something that contradicts the officer's testimony or written report with video evidence.
- Independent witnesses: Anyone who can attest to time frames, the amount of alcohol you consumed, or any lack of apparent impaired behavior may be able to provide testimony that supports your defense.
How do I reduce my DUI to reckless driving?
This again depends on the facts of your case. We can tell you whether or not you would be eligible, but ultimately that decision is made by the state attorney. For more information on “wet reckless” plea deals, read our blog post on how to get a DUI reduced to reckless driving.
Can I get a DUI for driving high on marijuana?
Yes, Florida law states that anyone under the influence of marijuana – even if it's for medicinal purposes – to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired can be arrested for driving under the influence. This is viewed similarly to driving under the influence of prescription drugs.
Am I going to jail for DUI?
This will depend on if you have any prior criminal history, the facts of your case and any additional aggravating factors.
Will a DUI show up on a background check?
Yes, an arrest for DUI will show on a background check. This is because arrests are public record. A prospective employer can search for your name in the county clerk of court database to see if you have a dui arrest or conviction. Fortunately, Daniel Bottari, our DUI attorney, has had DUI charges dismissed for his clients. A DUI dismissal with no conviction is necessary to have a record sealed or expunged.
Will a DUI affect my current job?
Florida is an at-will state. An at will employee is defined by the National Conference of State Legislatures, “At-will means that an employer can terminate an employee for any reason except an illegal one.” An illegal reason would be terminating an employee's employment for discrimination. Therefore, an employer can absolutely fire someone for a DUI arrest. However, whether the employer chooses to fire the employee for a DUI arrest will likely depend on the type of the employee's job. For example, people are more likely to be fired for DUI if they work with kids, teach, drive professionally for a living (limo driver, taxi driver, commercial truck driver), work in a health-related field (nurses, doctors) or work in real estate.
Can I get a DUI if I wasn't driving?
Yes, Florida law states that a driver who is in “actual physical control of a vehicle” can be arrested and convicted for DUI if he or she is under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired or with a BAL (breath alcohol level) of .08 or higher. At a DUI jury trial, the judge will read, “Actual physical control of a vehicle means the defendant must be physically in [or on] the vehicle and have the capability to operate the vehicle, regardless of whether [he] [she] is actually operating the vehicle at the time.” The rationale is that the state of Florida wants to prevent drunk or impaired drivers from ever getting behind the wheel of a vehicle. Griffin v. State, 457 So. 2d 1070, 1071. (Fla 2d DCA, 1984).
As the court stated in Lamore v. Stateu, 983 So.2d 665, 668, “Clearly, there is a legitimate governmental interest in addressing the drunk driving problem by making it a crime to be in actual physical control of a vehicle while impaired-thereby allowing an intoxicated person to be apprehended before he “strikes”.” The courts typically rely on a totality of the circumstances test to determine actual physical control. Those circumstances include: did the driver have possession of the car key? Was the defendant in the driver's seat? Was the vehicle operable? The location of the key is a big determining factor in assessing actual physical control.
Courts have found a defendant to be in actual physical control in the following scenarios:
- A person sleeping in the front seat of a parked car. The car engine was off, however the key was in the ignition switch. Fieselman v. State, 537 So.2d 603 (Fla. 2d DCA 1988).
- A person slumped over in the driver's seat with keys in hand. Baltrus v. State, 571 So.2d 75, 76.
- A driver alone in his vehicle with the keys in the glove compartment while on an interstate exit ramp. Mack v. State, 33 Fla. Supp. 2d 153 (Fla. 17th Cir. 1989). This case stands for the principle that constructive possession, not actual possession of a key, is sufficient to establish a driver's possession of the key. A driver has constructive possession of a key if, “he or she has knowledge of its presence and nature and the ability to maintain dominion and control over the object. These elements can be inferred from the exclusive possession of a car with the key.” State v. Odum. 862 So.2d 56. 59
Should I have performed the field sobriety tests?
The arresting officer probably asked you to perform field sobriety tests to, "dispel his suspicion of your impairment". The truth is that the officer had already made up his or her mind that you were impaired when they asked you to perform these exercises. The field sobriety exercises simply allow the officer to build a stronger case against you. However, if you did well on the walk and turn, the one leg stand, or if the officer did not see nystagmus (an involuntary jerking of the eye) with the pen shined in your eye, then these are all things that can be presented favorably to a jury. I always tell people to politely decline these tests, because it makes the government's case against you much weaker than if you had performed the tests.
How long does it take to get a hardship license?
First time DUI offenders are eligible to receive a hardship license immediately. However, you must request a hardship license within 10 days of your arrest. We can help you get a hardship license by providing the Florida Bureau of Administrative Review in Lauderdale Lakes with the necessary forms to process your hardship license application. The Bureau of Administrative review office in Lauderdale Lakes can be difficult for you to reach by phone, because they have limited resources and a high volume of applicants for hardship licenses. We will help you to get a hardship license. Failure to act within 10 days of your arrest will cause you to have to wait at least 30 days to apply for a hardship license. The hardship license is necessary for you to drive to and from work, for livelihood, medical and religious purposes. The citation that the officer gave to you only acts as a license for 10 days. After 10 days, if you do not get a hardship license, you will have to wait at least 30 days to get one. You will not be able to receive a hardship license if this is your second, third or fourth DUI. However, we can file a petition with the Bureau of Administrative Review to request a formal hearing of your dui arrest. This will allow us to get you a license for at least 42 days until the hearing. At the hearing, we will do everything that we can to show the hearing officer that the officer did not have enough evidence to arrest you for DUI.
Links to Government Resources
Delray Beach Courthouse - 200 West Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444
West Palm Beach Courthouse - 205 North Dixie Hwy, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
If you have been arrested for DUI in Boca Raton, call our office today for a FREE consultation at 561-588-2781.